if wishes were horses, part 1

My thought for the day is that if an underwater music option was available, I might be a better swimmer. Perhaps there is such a thing, and I’m just guessing here, but I probably couldn’t afford it.

A quick google search yielded the Speedo Aquabeat Waterproof MP3 Player (seems like there should be a comma in there somewhere), amid many other makes and models of waterproof MP3 players. This one is 100-ish dollars, and the newer model is 150. Reviews suggest that purchasing additional waterproof headphones is not a bad idea, so that would be an extra $15-50.

Point being, there’s a lot of stuff I would like for a smoother, more pleasurable workout experience, but I am out of money! I considered competing in the Los Locos Duathlon this weekend (WHO AM I???) to get some practice in multi-sport races. When I evaluated my bank account I was forced to forgo. I can’t justify a last-minute race entry fee at the end of a pay period.

A brief update on my swim clinic experience: it was kind of terrible. Out of several reasons, the most significant is that I panicked in a big group of people, in an unexpectedly outdoor pool with an intense deep end. In an effort to avoid constant negativity, I will not detail my experience. I am grateful for the class and expect things to go better today, but still feel some dread waiting for 5.30 to arrive. As is my special skill, I was beating myself up about the class but got an awesome pep talk from Howell in person, and from Star via email, and that went a long way. I plan to spend a few minutes meditating (my fancy name for basic relaxation/breathing exercises) between work and class. Hopefully that will help me stay calm today.

Oh and BEE TEE DOUBLE YOU, my run yesterday was awesome. So there. I still want a Garmin multi-sport watch and smaller MP3 player option because I am chafing on my upper arm from dragging around my iPhone in an old-ass armband. Mo’ sports, mo’ problems, mo’ money needed. And I just don’t have an unlimited supply. In the meantime, some carefully applied chamois butter reduces the rubbing, and I’m working with what I’ve got.

This entry was posted in gear, obstacles, run, swim. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

